Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Chichester Festival Theatre

Chichester Festival Theatre, located in Chichester, Sussex, England, was designed by Philip Powell and Hidalgo Moya, and opened by its founder Leslie Evershed-Martin in 1962. Subsequently the smaller and more intimate Minerva Theatre was built nearby in 1989.
The inaugural Artistic Director was Sir Laurence Olivier, and it was at Chichester that the first National Theatre company was formed. Chichester's productions would transfer to the NT's base at the Old Vic in London. The opening productions in 1962 were: The Chances by John Fletcher which opened on 3 July; The Broken Heart, by John Ford, opened 9 July; Uncle Vanya, by Anton Chekov, opened 16 July. Among the actors in the opening season were: Lewis Casson, Fay Compton, Joan Greenwood, Rosemary Harris, Kathleen Harrison, Keith Michell, André Morell, John Neville, Laurence Olivier, Joan Plowright, Michael Redgrave, Athene Seyler, Sybil Thorndike and Peter Woodthorpe.
The Festival Season runs from April to September and includes productions from classics to contemporary writing and musicals.
During this time the theatre also puts on outdoor promenade performances and organises other festival events including cabaret and comedy nights. A range of events is designed to add to the experience of visiting the theatre, including platform events, family days and talks.

Get involved with shows at the Chichester Festival Theatre:

Shows

  • Sun 21 Jun
  • Mon 22 Jun
  • Tue 23 Jun
  • Wed 24 Jun
  • Thu 25 Jun
  • Fri 26 Jun
  • Sat 27 Jun
  • Sun 25 Oct
  • Mon 26 Oct
  • Tue 27 Oct
  • Wed 28 Oct
  • Thu 29 Oct
  • Fri 30 Oct
  • Sat 31 Oct
  • Sun 3 Jan
  • Mon 4 Jan
  • Tue 5 Jan
  • Wed 6 Jan
  • Thu 7 Jan
  • Fri 8 Jan
  • Sat 9 Jan
  • Sun 28 Feb
  • Mon 1 Mar
  • Tue 2 Mar
  • Wed 3 Mar
  • Thu 4 Mar
  • Fri 5 Mar
  • Sat 6 Mar
  • Sun 7 Mar
  • Mon 8 Mar
  • Tue 9 Mar
  • Wed 10 Mar
  • Thu 11 Mar
  • Fri 12 Mar
  • Sat 13 Mar
  • Sun 14 Mar
  • Mon 15 Mar
  • Tue 16 Mar
  • Wed 17 Mar
  • Thu 18 Mar
  • Fri 19 Mar
  • Sat 20 Mar
  • Sun 4 Apr
  • Mon 5 Apr
  • Tue 6 Apr
  • Wed 7 Apr
  • Thu 8 Apr
  • Fri 9 Apr
  • Sat 10 Apr
  • Sun 11 Apr
  • Mon 12 Apr
  • Tue 13 Apr
  • Wed 14 Apr
  • Thu 15 Apr
  • Fri 16 Apr
  • Sat 17 Apr
  • Sun 18 Apr
  • Mon 19 Apr
  • Tue 20 Apr
  • Wed 21 Apr
  • Thu 22 Apr
  • Fri 23 Apr
  • Sat 24 Apr
  • Sun 25 Apr
  • Mon 26 Apr
  • Tue 27 Apr
  • Wed 28 Apr
  • Thu 29 Apr
  • Fri 30 Apr
  • Sat 1 May

Past shows

See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.