Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Chichester Festival Theatre

Chichester Festival Theatre, located in Chichester, Sussex, England, was designed by Philip Powell and Hidalgo Moya, and opened by its founder Leslie Evershed-Martin in 1962. Subsequently the smaller and more intimate Minerva Theatre was built nearby in 1989.
The inaugural Artistic Director was Sir Laurence Olivier, and it was at Chichester that the first National Theatre company was formed. Chichester's productions would transfer to the NT's base at the Old Vic in London. The opening productions in 1962 were: The Chances by John Fletcher which opened on 3 July; The Broken Heart, by John Ford, opened 9 July; Uncle Vanya, by Anton Chekov, opened 16 July. Among the actors in the opening season were: Lewis Casson, Fay Compton, Joan Greenwood, Rosemary Harris, Kathleen Harrison, Keith Michell, André Morell, John Neville, Laurence Olivier, Joan Plowright, Michael Redgrave, Athene Seyler, Sybil Thorndike and Peter Woodthorpe.
The Festival Season runs from April to September and includes productions from classics to contemporary writing and musicals.
During this time the theatre also puts on outdoor promenade performances and organises other festival events including cabaret and comedy nights. A range of events is designed to add to the experience of visiting the theatre, including platform events, family days and talks.

Get involved with shows at the Chichester Festival Theatre:
Technical roles for Antony and Cleopatra

We are looking for: Writer , Carpenter, Camera Operator , Photographer 

    Contact Random Contact 79 before 1st Sep 2022 19:47 for more details.

    Designer roles for Urinetown

    We are looking for: Publicity Designer , Supreme Artistic Overlord, Artistic Director , Production Designer

      Contact Random Contact 34, random@example.com before 28th Aug 2022 19:47 for more details.

      News

      Chichester Festival Theatre 04:43 on 7th July Twitter

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce The End of Addenbrooke's.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 08:05 on 4th July Twitter

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for The Merchant of St John's.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 03:29 on 3rd July Twitter

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre has some great news! We're performing Much Ado About Panto.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 23:37 on 27th June Twitter

      Chichester Festival Theatre has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Waiting for St John's.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 16:03 on 26th June Twitter

      Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce The End of St John's.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 02:19 on 26th June Twitter

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Pirates of Week 5.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 06:39 on 23rd June Twitter

      Chichester Festival Theatre has some great news! We're performing Pirates of Philosophy.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 21:50 on 19th June Twitter

      Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce Pirates of Oxford.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 06:48 on 14th June Twitter

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Three Men in Philosophy.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 09:55 on 8th June Twitter

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce Much Ado About St John's.


      Shows

      • Sun 9 Oct
      • Mon 10 Oct
      • Tue 11 Oct
      • Wed 12 Oct
      • Thu 13 Oct
      • Fri 14 Oct
      • Sat 15 Oct
      • Sun 26 Feb
      • Mon 27 Feb
      • Tue 28 Feb
      • Wed 1 Mar
      • Thu 2 Mar
      • Fri 3 Mar
      • Sat 4 Mar
      • Sun 12 Mar
      • Mon 13 Mar
      • Tue 14 Mar
      • Wed 15 Mar
      • Thu 16 Mar
      • Fri 17 Mar
      • Sat 18 Mar
      • Sun 23 Jul
      • Mon 24 Jul
      • Tue 25 Jul
      • Wed 26 Jul
      • Thu 27 Jul
      • Fri 28 Jul
      • Sat 29 Jul
      • Sun 30 Jul
      • Mon 31 Jul
      • Tue 1 Aug
      • Wed 2 Aug
      • Thu 3 Aug
      • Fri 4 Aug
      • Sat 5 Aug

      Past shows

      See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.