Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Chichester Festival Theatre

Chichester Festival Theatre, located in Chichester, Sussex, England, was designed by Philip Powell and Hidalgo Moya, and opened by its founder Leslie Evershed-Martin in 1962. Subsequently the smaller and more intimate Minerva Theatre was built nearby in 1989.
The inaugural Artistic Director was Sir Laurence Olivier, and it was at Chichester that the first National Theatre company was formed. Chichester's productions would transfer to the NT's base at the Old Vic in London. The opening productions in 1962 were: The Chances by John Fletcher which opened on 3 July; The Broken Heart, by John Ford, opened 9 July; Uncle Vanya, by Anton Chekov, opened 16 July. Among the actors in the opening season were: Lewis Casson, Fay Compton, Joan Greenwood, Rosemary Harris, Kathleen Harrison, Keith Michell, André Morell, John Neville, Laurence Olivier, Joan Plowright, Michael Redgrave, Athene Seyler, Sybil Thorndike and Peter Woodthorpe.
The Festival Season runs from April to September and includes productions from classics to contemporary writing and musicals.
During this time the theatre also puts on outdoor promenade performances and organises other festival events including cabaret and comedy nights. A range of events is designed to add to the experience of visiting the theatre, including platform events, family days and talks.

Get involved with shows at the Chichester Festival Theatre:
Auditions for The Producers

Audition details

  • Sat 15th Aug, 14:30–16:30, Random Location 9
  • Wed 12th Aug, 19:30–23:30, Random Location 42
  • Wed 5th Aug, 15:00–17:00, Random Location 25

Contact abc123@cam.ac.uk before 19th Aug 2020 01:00 for more details.

Auditions for Hairspray

Audition details

  • Thu 6th Aug, 11:30–15:30, Random Location 43

Contact abc123@cam.ac.uk before 19th Aug 2020 01:00 for more details.

Technical roles for Hairspray

We are looking for: * Producer * Publicist * Technical Director * Master Carpenter * Set Designer * Costume Designer * Director * Publicity Designer * Production Manager

    Contact Random Contact 92 before 30th Aug 2020 16:48 for more details.

    Random text 56

    Further Info text 23

      Contact Random Contact 9, random@example.com before 7th Aug 2020 16:48 for more details.

      Technical roles for Cyrano de Bergerac

      We are looking for: * Lighting Designer * Director * Costume Designer * Sound Designer * Master Carpenter * Publicity Designer * Producer

        Contact Random Contact 2 before 17th Sep 2020 16:48 for more details.

        Designer roles for Cyrano de Bergerac

        We are looking for: * Set Designer * Supreme Artistic Overlord * Artistic Director * Production Designer

          Contact Random Contact 96, random@example.com before 10th Sep 2020 16:48 for more details.

          Auditions for Jesus Christ Superstar

          Audition details

          • Fri 14th Aug, 13:30–17:30, Random Location 2

          Contact abc123@cam.ac.uk before 19th Aug 2020 01:00 for more details.

          Random text 19

          Further Info text 39

            Contact Random Contact 82, random@example.com before 15th Aug 2020 16:48 for more details.

            Auditions for The Sound of Music

            Audition details

            • Sat 8th Aug, 15:30–19:30, Random Location 46
            • Fri 31st Jul, 18:15–22:15, Random Location 28

            Contact abc123@cam.ac.uk before 19th Aug 2020 01:00 for more details.

            Designer roles for The Good Person of Szechwan

            We are looking for: * Publicity Designer * Set Designer * Supreme Artistic Overlord

              Contact Random Contact 71, random@example.com before 18th Aug 2020 16:48 for more details.

              News

              Chichester Festival Theatre 15:56 on 1st August Facebook

              Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre has some great news! We're performing Surviving St John's.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 17:22 on 27th July Facebook

              Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Much Ado About Cindies.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 01:48 on 26th July Facebook

              Chichester Festival Theatre has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Surviving Amsterdam.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 17:52 on 24th July Facebook

              Chichester Festival Theatre has some great news! We're performing Three Men in Addenbrooke's.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 21:17 on 18th July Facebook

              Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Surviving the Van of Life.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 09:58 on 17th July Facebook

              Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is The Merchant of the Van of Life.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 12:35 on 15th July Facebook

              Chichester Festival Theatre has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Surviving Cindies.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 16:17 on 14th July Facebook

              Chichester Festival Theatre has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Pirates of Oxford.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 10:00 on 13th July Facebook

              Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Pirates of Oxford.


              Chichester Festival Theatre 03:04 on 8th July Facebook

              Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce Three Men in Amsterdam.


              Shows

              • Sun 18 Oct
              • Mon 19 Oct
              • Tue 20 Oct
              • Wed 21 Oct
              • Thu 22 Oct
              • Fri 23 Oct
              • Sat 24 Oct
              • Sun 25 Oct
              • Mon 26 Oct
              • Tue 27 Oct
              • Wed 28 Oct
              • Thu 29 Oct
              • Fri 30 Oct
              • Sat 31 Oct
              • Sun 17 Jan
              • Mon 18 Jan
              • Tue 19 Jan
              • Wed 20 Jan
              • Thu 21 Jan
              • Fri 22 Jan
              • Sat 23 Jan
              • Sun 24 Jan
              • Mon 25 Jan
              • Tue 26 Jan
              • Wed 27 Jan
              • Thu 28 Jan
              • Fri 29 Jan
              • Sat 30 Jan
              • Sun 30 May
              • Mon 31 May
              • Tue 1 Jun
              • Wed 2 Jun
              • Thu 3 Jun
              • Fri 4 Jun
              • Sat 5 Jun
              • Sun 6 Jun
              • Mon 7 Jun
              • Tue 8 Jun
              • Wed 9 Jun
              • Thu 10 Jun
              • Fri 11 Jun
              • Sat 12 Jun
              • Sun 13 Jun
              • Mon 14 Jun
              • Tue 15 Jun
              • Wed 16 Jun
              • Thu 17 Jun
              • Fri 18 Jun
              • Sat 19 Jun
              • Sun 20 Jun
              • Mon 21 Jun
              • Tue 22 Jun
              • Wed 23 Jun
              • Thu 24 Jun
              • Fri 25 Jun
              • Sat 26 Jun

              Past shows

              See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.