Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Chichester Festival Theatre

Chichester Festival Theatre, located in Chichester, Sussex, England, was designed by Philip Powell and Hidalgo Moya, and opened by its founder Leslie Evershed-Martin in 1962. Subsequently the smaller and more intimate Minerva Theatre was built nearby in 1989.
The inaugural Artistic Director was Sir Laurence Olivier, and it was at Chichester that the first National Theatre company was formed. Chichester's productions would transfer to the NT's base at the Old Vic in London. The opening productions in 1962 were: The Chances by John Fletcher which opened on 3 July; The Broken Heart, by John Ford, opened 9 July; Uncle Vanya, by Anton Chekov, opened 16 July. Among the actors in the opening season were: Lewis Casson, Fay Compton, Joan Greenwood, Rosemary Harris, Kathleen Harrison, Keith Michell, André Morell, John Neville, Laurence Olivier, Joan Plowright, Michael Redgrave, Athene Seyler, Sybil Thorndike and Peter Woodthorpe.
The Festival Season runs from April to September and includes productions from classics to contemporary writing and musicals.
During this time the theatre also puts on outdoor promenade performances and organises other festival events including cabaret and comedy nights. A range of events is designed to add to the experience of visiting the theatre, including platform events, family days and talks.

Get involved with shows at the Chichester Festival Theatre:
Technical roles for South Pacific

We are looking for: Director , Producer , Sound Designer , Composer , Choreographer , Photographer , Editor , Production Manager , Stage Manager 

    Contact Random Contact 99 before 3rd Aug 2021 16:07 for more details.

    Designer roles for The Producers

    We are looking for: Supreme Artistic Overlord, Set Designer 

      Contact Random Contact 22, random@example.com before 4th Aug 2021 16:07 for more details.

      News

      Chichester Festival Theatre 20:06 on 31st May Facebook

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre has some great news! We're performing Surviving Panto.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 21:15 on 28th May Facebook

      Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce Pirates of Oxford.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 21:21 on 27th May Facebook

      Chichester Festival Theatre is excited to announce A Streetcar Named Amsterdam.


      Chichester Festival Theatre 21:55 on 22nd May Facebook

      Hi @Camdram! Chichester Festival Theatre wants you to buy tickets for The End of Addenbrooke's.


      Shows

      • Sun 12 Sep
      • Mon 13 Sep
      • Tue 14 Sep
      • Wed 15 Sep
      • Thu 16 Sep
      • Fri 17 Sep
      • Sat 18 Sep
      • Sun 17 Oct
      • Mon 18 Oct
      • Tue 19 Oct
      • Wed 20 Oct
      • Thu 21 Oct
      • Fri 22 Oct
      • Sat 23 Oct
      • Sun 24 Oct
      • Mon 25 Oct
      • Tue 26 Oct
      • Wed 27 Oct
      • Thu 28 Oct
      • Fri 29 Oct
      • Sat 30 Oct
      • Sun 5 Dec
      • Mon 6 Dec
      • Tue 7 Dec
      • Wed 8 Dec
      • Thu 9 Dec
      • Fri 10 Dec
      • Sat 11 Dec
      • Sun 6 Feb
      • Mon 7 Feb
      • Tue 8 Feb
      • Wed 9 Feb
      • Thu 10 Feb
      • Fri 11 Feb
      • Sat 12 Feb
      • Sun 12 Jun
      • Mon 13 Jun
      • Tue 14 Jun
      • Wed 15 Jun
      • Thu 16 Jun
      • Fri 17 Jun
      • Sat 18 Jun

      Past shows

      See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.