Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information

Camdram

Haymarket Theatre

The Theatre Royal Haymarket is a West End theatre in the Haymarket in the City of Westminster which dates back to 1720, making it the third-oldest London playhouse still in use. Samuel Foote acquired the lease in 1747, and in 1766 he gained a royal patent to play legitimate drama in the summer months. The original building was a little further north in the same street. It has been at its current location since 1821, when it was redesigned by John Nash. It is a Grade I listed building, with a seating capacity of 888. The freehold of the theatre is owned by the Crown Estate.
The Haymarket has been the site of a significant innovation in theatre. In 1873, it was the venue for the first scheduled matinée performance, establishing a custom soon followed in theatres everywhere. Its managers have included Benjamin Nottingham Webster, John Baldwin Buckstone, Squire Bancroft, Cyril Maude, Herbert Beerbohm Tree, and John Sleeper Clarke, brother-in-law of John Wilkes Booth, who quit America after the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Famous actors who débuted at the theatre included Robert William Elliston and John Liston.

Contact Haymarket Theatre

Get involved with shows at the Haymarket Theatre:
News

Haymarket Theatre 07:03 on 7th February Twitter

Haymarket Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Surviving Amsterdam.


Haymarket Theatre 05:41 on 3rd February Twitter

Hi @Camdram! Haymarket Theatre wants you to buy tickets for Pirates of Oxford.


Shows

  • Sun 12 May
  • Mon 13 May
  • Tue 14 May
  • Wed 15 May
  • Thu 16 May
  • Fri 17 May
  • Sat 18 May
  • Sun 30 Jun
  • Mon 1 Jul
  • Tue 2 Jul
  • Wed 3 Jul
  • Thu 4 Jul
  • Fri 5 Jul
  • Sat 6 Jul
  • Sun 4 Aug
  • Mon 5 Aug
  • Tue 6 Aug
  • Wed 7 Aug
  • Thu 8 Aug
  • Fri 9 Aug
  • Sat 10 Aug
  • Sun 11 Aug
  • Mon 12 Aug
  • Tue 13 Aug
  • Wed 14 Aug
  • Thu 15 Aug
  • Fri 16 Aug
  • Sat 17 Aug
  • Sun 1 Sep
  • Mon 2 Sep
  • Tue 3 Sep
  • Wed 4 Sep
  • Thu 5 Sep
  • Fri 6 Sep
  • Sat 7 Sep
  • Sun 22 Sep
  • Mon 23 Sep
  • Tue 24 Sep
  • Wed 25 Sep
  • Thu 26 Sep
  • Fri 27 Sep
  • Sat 28 Sep
  • Sun 1 Dec
  • Mon 2 Dec
  • Tue 3 Dec
  • Wed 4 Dec
  • Thu 5 Dec
  • Fri 6 Dec
  • Sat 7 Dec

Past shows

See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.