Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information

Camdram

Haymarket Theatre

The Theatre Royal Haymarket is a West End theatre in the Haymarket in the City of Westminster which dates back to 1720, making it the third-oldest London playhouse still in use. Samuel Foote acquired the lease in 1747, and in 1766 he gained a royal patent to play legitimate drama in the summer months. The original building was a little further north in the same street. It has been at its current location since 1821, when it was redesigned by John Nash. It is a Grade I listed building, with a seating capacity of 888. The freehold of the theatre is owned by the Crown Estate.
The Haymarket has been the site of a significant innovation in theatre. In 1873, it was the venue for the first scheduled matinée performance, establishing a custom soon followed in theatres everywhere. Its managers have included Benjamin Nottingham Webster, John Baldwin Buckstone, Squire Bancroft, Cyril Maude, Herbert Beerbohm Tree, and John Sleeper Clarke, brother-in-law of John Wilkes Booth, who quit America after the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Famous actors who débuted at the theatre included Robert William Elliston and John Liston.

Get involved with shows at the Haymarket Theatre:
  • The Visit is holding auditions: in Random Location 50 from 14:45 to 14:45 on Sun 25th Aug - more details
  • Sweet Charity is holding auditions: in Random Location 22 from 18:30 to 18:30 on Thu 29th Aug - more details
  • Sweet Charity is holding auditions: in Random Location 5 from 15:15 to 15:15 on Fri 30th Aug - more details
  • The Visit is looking for: Producer, Director, Publicity Designer, Technical Director, Master Carpenter, Production Manager, Sound Designer - more details
  • Aida is looking for: Technical Director, Master Carpenter, Producer, Publicity Designer, Production Manager, Director, Costume Designer, Publicist - more details
  • Damn Yankees has announced: Random text 13 - more details

Shows

  • Sun 10 Nov
  • Mon 11 Nov
  • Tue 12 Nov
  • Wed 13 Nov
  • Thu 14 Nov
  • Fri 15 Nov
  • Sat 16 Nov
  • Sun 5 Jan
  • Mon 6 Jan
  • Tue 7 Jan
  • Wed 8 Jan
  • Thu 9 Jan
  • Fri 10 Jan
  • Sat 11 Jan
  • Sun 16 Feb
  • Mon 17 Feb
  • Tue 18 Feb
  • Wed 19 Feb
  • Thu 20 Feb
  • Fri 21 Feb
  • Sat 22 Feb
  • Sun 21 Jun
  • Mon 22 Jun
  • Tue 23 Jun
  • Wed 24 Jun
  • Thu 25 Jun
  • Fri 26 Jun
  • Sat 27 Jun
  • Sun 28 Jun
  • Mon 29 Jun
  • Tue 30 Jun
  • Wed 1 Jul
  • Thu 2 Jul
  • Fri 3 Jul
  • Sat 4 Jul

Past shows

See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.