Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Haymarket Theatre

The Theatre Royal Haymarket is a West End theatre in the Haymarket in the City of Westminster which dates back to 1720, making it the third-oldest London playhouse still in use. Samuel Foote acquired the lease in 1747, and in 1766 he gained a royal patent to play legitimate drama in the summer months. The original building was a little further north in the same street. It has been at its current location since 1821, when it was redesigned by John Nash. It is a Grade I listed building, with a seating capacity of 888. The freehold of the theatre is owned by the Crown Estate.
The Haymarket has been the site of a significant innovation in theatre. In 1873, it was the venue for the first scheduled matinée performance, establishing a custom soon followed in theatres everywhere. Its managers have included Benjamin Nottingham Webster, John Baldwin Buckstone, Squire Bancroft, Cyril Maude, Herbert Beerbohm Tree, and John Sleeper Clarke, brother-in-law of John Wilkes Booth, who quit America after the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Famous actors who débuted at the theatre included Robert William Elliston and John Liston.

News

Haymarket Theatre 04:11 on 24th September Facebook

Haymarket Theatre has some great news! We're performing Three Men in Philosophy.


Shows

  • Sun 6 Dec
  • Mon 7 Dec
  • Tue 8 Dec
  • Wed 9 Dec
  • Thu 10 Dec
  • Fri 11 Dec
  • Sat 12 Dec
  • Sun 13 Dec
  • Mon 14 Dec
  • Tue 15 Dec
  • Wed 16 Dec
  • Thu 17 Dec
  • Fri 18 Dec
  • Sat 19 Dec
  • Sun 24 Jan
  • Mon 25 Jan
  • Tue 26 Jan
  • Wed 27 Jan
  • Thu 28 Jan
  • Fri 29 Jan
  • Sat 30 Jan
  • Sun 4 Jul
  • Mon 5 Jul
  • Tue 6 Jul
  • Wed 7 Jul
  • Thu 8 Jul
  • Fri 9 Jul
  • Sat 10 Jul
  • Sun 8 Aug
  • Mon 9 Aug
  • Tue 10 Aug
  • Wed 11 Aug
  • Thu 12 Aug
  • Fri 13 Aug
  • Sat 14 Aug
  • Sun 29 Aug
  • Mon 30 Aug
  • Tue 31 Aug
  • Wed 1 Sep
  • Thu 2 Sep
  • Fri 3 Sep
  • Sat 4 Sep
  • Sun 5 Sep
  • Mon 6 Sep
  • Tue 7 Sep
  • Wed 8 Sep
  • Thu 9 Sep
  • Fri 10 Sep
  • Sat 11 Sep
  • Sun 26 Sep
  • Mon 27 Sep
  • Tue 28 Sep
  • Wed 29 Sep
  • Thu 30 Sep
  • Fri 1 Oct
  • Sat 2 Oct

Past shows

See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.