Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Royal Opera House, London

The Royal Opera House is an opera house and major performing arts venue in Covent Garden, central London. The large building is often referred to as simply "Covent Garden", after a previous use of the site of the opera house's original construction in 1732. It is the home of The Royal Opera, The Royal Ballet, and the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House. Originally called the Theatre Royal, it served primarily as a playhouse for the first hundred years of its history. In 1734, the first ballet was presented. A year later, Handel's first season of operas began. Many of his operas and oratorios were specifically written for Covent Garden and had their premieres there.
The current building is the third theatre on the site following disastrous fires in 1808 and 1857. The façade, foyer, and auditorium date from 1858, but almost every other element of the present complex dates from an extensive reconstruction in the 1990s. The Royal Opera House seats 2,256 people and consists of four tiers of boxes and balconies and the amphitheatre gallery. The proscenium is 12.20 m wide and 14.80 m high. The main auditorium is a Grade 1 listed building as noted by Theatres Trust.

Get involved with shows at Royal Opera House, London:
Designer roles for Footloose

We are looking for: Supreme Artistic Overlord, Artistic Director , Set Designer 

    Contact Random Contact 65, random@example.com before 3rd Sep 2022 19:47 for more details.

    Designer roles for Le Bourgeois gentilhomme

    We are looking for: Set Designer , Publicity Designer 

      Contact Random Contact 47, random@example.com before 31st Aug 2022 19:47 for more details.

      Designer roles for The Misanthrope

      We are looking for: Production Designer

        Contact Random Contact 100, random@example.com before 16th Aug 2022 19:47 for more details.

        Designer roles for Woyzeck

        We are looking for: Production Designer

          Contact Random Contact 82, random@example.com before 20th Aug 2022 19:47 for more details.

          Designer roles for My Fair Lady

          We are looking for: Production Designer, Supreme Artistic Overlord, Publicity Designer 

            Contact Random Contact 69, random@example.com before 28th Aug 2022 19:47 for more details.

            Royal Opera House, London 22:16 on 6th July Twitter

            Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Surviving Philosophy.


            Royal Opera House, London 17:33 on 6th July Facebook

            Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London wants you to buy tickets for The End of St John's.


            Royal Opera House, London 09:19 on 2nd July Twitter

            Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce The End of the Van of Life.


            Royal Opera House, London 21:37 on 30th June Facebook

            Royal Opera House, London wants you to buy tickets for A Streetcar Named Week 5.


            Royal Opera House, London 09:12 on 30th June Facebook

            Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce Pirates of Cindies.


            Royal Opera House, London 23:58 on 26th June Twitter

            Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce Pirates of Panto.


            Royal Opera House, London 16:06 on 24th June Twitter

            Royal Opera House, London has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Much Ado About Oxford.


            Royal Opera House, London 16:03 on 19th June Twitter

            Royal Opera House, London has some great news! We're performing Who's Afraid of Week 5.


            Royal Opera House, London 17:28 on 15th June Twitter

            Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London wants you to buy tickets for Pirates of Oxford.


            Shows

            • Sun 9 Oct
            • Mon 10 Oct
            • Tue 11 Oct
            • Wed 12 Oct
            • Thu 13 Oct
            • Fri 14 Oct
            • Sat 15 Oct
            • Sun 13 Nov
            • Mon 14 Nov
            • Tue 15 Nov
            • Wed 16 Nov
            • Thu 17 Nov
            • Fri 18 Nov
            • Sat 19 Nov
            • Sun 4 Dec
            • Mon 5 Dec
            • Tue 6 Dec
            • Wed 7 Dec
            • Thu 8 Dec
            • Fri 9 Dec
            • Sat 10 Dec
            • Sun 26 Mar
            • Mon 27 Mar
            • Tue 28 Mar
            • Wed 29 Mar
            • Thu 30 Mar
            • Fri 31 Mar
            • Sat 1 Apr
            • Sun 30 Apr
            • Mon 1 May
            • Tue 2 May
            • Wed 3 May
            • Thu 4 May
            • Fri 5 May
            • Sat 6 May
            • Sun 2 Jul
            • Mon 3 Jul
            • Tue 4 Jul
            • Wed 5 Jul
            • Thu 6 Jul
            • Fri 7 Jul
            • Sat 8 Jul

            Past shows

            See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.