Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Royal Opera House, London

The Royal Opera House is an opera house and major performing arts venue in Covent Garden, central London. The large building is often referred to as simply "Covent Garden", after a previous use of the site of the opera house's original construction in 1732. It is the home of The Royal Opera, The Royal Ballet, and the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House. Originally called the Theatre Royal, it served primarily as a playhouse for the first hundred years of its history. In 1734, the first ballet was presented. A year later, Handel's first season of operas began. Many of his operas and oratorios were specifically written for Covent Garden and had their premieres there.
The current building is the third theatre on the site following disastrous fires in 1808 and 1857. The façade, foyer, and auditorium date from 1858, but almost every other element of the present complex dates from an extensive reconstruction in the 1990s. The Royal Opera House seats 2,256 people and consists of four tiers of boxes and balconies and the amphitheatre gallery. The proscenium is 12.20 m wide and 14.80 m high. The main auditorium is a Grade 1 listed building as noted by Theatres Trust.

Get involved with shows at Royal Opera House, London:
News

Royal Opera House, London 06:11 on 3rd July Facebook

Royal Opera House, London has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Much Ado About Addenbrooke's.


Shows

  • Sun 13 Sep
  • Mon 14 Sep
  • Tue 15 Sep
  • Wed 16 Sep
  • Thu 17 Sep
  • Fri 18 Sep
  • Sat 19 Sep
  • Sun 27 Dec
  • Mon 28 Dec
  • Tue 29 Dec
  • Wed 30 Dec
  • Thu 31 Dec
  • Fri 1 Jan
  • Sat 2 Jan
  • Sun 31 Jan
  • Mon 1 Feb
  • Tue 2 Feb
  • Wed 3 Feb
  • Thu 4 Feb
  • Fri 5 Feb
  • Sat 6 Feb
  • Sun 7 Feb
  • Mon 8 Feb
  • Tue 9 Feb
  • Wed 10 Feb
  • Thu 11 Feb
  • Fri 12 Feb
  • Sat 13 Feb
  • Sun 2 May
  • Mon 3 May
  • Tue 4 May
  • Wed 5 May
  • Thu 6 May
  • Fri 7 May
  • Sat 8 May
  • Sun 9 May
  • Mon 10 May
  • Tue 11 May
  • Wed 12 May
  • Thu 13 May
  • Fri 14 May
  • Sat 15 May

Past shows

See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.