Development Site

This site contains fictional data and does not write to the real Camdram database - read more information.

Camdram

Royal Opera House, London

The Royal Opera House is an opera house and major performing arts venue in Covent Garden, central London. The large building is often referred to as simply "Covent Garden", after a previous use of the site of the opera house's original construction in 1732. It is the home of The Royal Opera, The Royal Ballet, and the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House. Originally called the Theatre Royal, it served primarily as a playhouse for the first hundred years of its history. In 1734, the first ballet was presented. A year later, Handel's first season of operas began. Many of his operas and oratorios were specifically written for Covent Garden and had their premieres there.
The current building is the third theatre on the site following disastrous fires in 1808 and 1857. The façade, foyer, and auditorium date from 1858, but almost every other element of the present complex dates from an extensive reconstruction in the 1990s. The Royal Opera House seats 2,256 people and consists of four tiers of boxes and balconies and the amphitheatre gallery. The proscenium is 12.20 m wide and 14.80 m high. The main auditorium is a Grade 1 listed building as noted by Theatres Trust.

Get involved with shows at Royal Opera House, London:
News

Royal Opera House, London 05:31 on 28th March Twitter

Royal Opera House, London has a really very long post. Rehersals are well underway for our very exciting new show. We're sure you'll want to hear all about it, and maybe come see it! So anyway our latest show is Three Men in Week 5.


Royal Opera House, London 21:46 on 22nd March Twitter

Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce A Streetcar Named the Van of Life.


Royal Opera House, London 11:04 on 22nd March Twitter

Royal Opera House, London wants you to buy tickets for Three Men in Week 5.


Royal Opera House, London 21:43 on 19th March Twitter

Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London has some great news! We're performing Pirates of Addenbrooke's.


Royal Opera House, London 14:19 on 18th March Twitter

Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce Much Ado About the Van of Life.


Royal Opera House, London 17:21 on 17th March Twitter

Hi @Camdram! Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce A Streetcar Named Addenbrooke's.


Royal Opera House, London 09:44 on 17th March Twitter

Royal Opera House, London is excited to announce Surviving Panto.


Shows

  • Sun 3 May
  • Mon 4 May
  • Tue 5 May
  • Wed 6 May
  • Thu 7 May
  • Fri 8 May
  • Sat 9 May
  • Sun 19 Jul
  • Mon 20 Jul
  • Tue 21 Jul
  • Wed 22 Jul
  • Thu 23 Jul
  • Fri 24 Jul
  • Sat 25 Jul
  • Sun 23 Aug
  • Mon 24 Aug
  • Tue 25 Aug
  • Wed 26 Aug
  • Thu 27 Aug
  • Fri 28 Aug
  • Sat 29 Aug
  • Sun 30 Aug
  • Mon 31 Aug
  • Tue 1 Sep
  • Wed 2 Sep
  • Thu 3 Sep
  • Fri 4 Sep
  • Sat 5 Sep
  • Sun 25 Oct
  • Mon 26 Oct
  • Tue 27 Oct
  • Wed 28 Oct
  • Thu 29 Oct
  • Fri 30 Oct
  • Sat 31 Oct
  • Sun 29 Nov
  • Mon 30 Nov
  • Tue 1 Dec
  • Wed 2 Dec
  • Thu 3 Dec
  • Fri 4 Dec
  • Sat 5 Dec
  • Sun 3 Jan
  • Mon 4 Jan
  • Tue 5 Jan
  • Wed 6 Jan
  • Thu 7 Jan
  • Fri 8 Jan
  • Sat 9 Jan
  • Sun 21 Mar
  • Mon 22 Mar
  • Tue 23 Mar
  • Wed 24 Mar
  • Thu 25 Mar
  • Fri 26 Mar
  • Sat 27 Mar

Past shows

See all the shows that have been performed here at the venue history page.